Spain wins the Polo World Cup for the first time

Spain wins the Polo World Cup for the first time

The Spanish national team consists of Nico Alvarez and Luis Domic Nico Ruiz Iguazu and Pelayo Berazade, as well as Jaime Serra, became the world’s first polo champions (14 goals), beating the United States 11-10 in the final, after a goal in overtime in the tournament. Wellington (USA).

Winning is a milestone in the history of this sport In our country, with Sotogrande as the epicenter and about 800 players between Spaniards and foreigners, and with the team that attended the event hoping to enter the semi-finals as the goal of their dreams. It is undoubtedly the most significant success since the silver medal at the 1920 Antwerp Olympics.

Benjamin Araya’s team only gave up their defeat against Argentinawho defended the title, with a score of 6 to 3.5, while comfortably defeating Mexico (11-4.5) and Pakistan (9 to 7.5) in the group stage, and already in the semi-finals, Uruguay (10 .5 to 7).

This was the twelfth edition of the World Cup. Argentina, with five titles, although they could only be fourth, dominate the record as all the champion teams have been American (Brazil, Chile and the United States) so far. Spain ranked fourth (1997 and 2008) as the best results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *